Ethereal Breath (Fun fact: The first poem I wrote)

She sits with a sweater draped over her shoulders,
her gaze chases the corners of the room.
Our eyes meet.

“Do you want to dance?” I ask.
We unite in the middle of the floor.
Pulled together,
I’ve been waiting to be here.

Her eyes are thieves,
robbing my lungs of air.
I don’t look back,
for fear of what they might do.
I’ve lived this moment before,
played it over and over,
but I am paralyzed.

I know what is meant to happen,
but does she?
An answer I won’t know,
until I have a chance to breathe.

A calendar renewed
and I stand in the same prison she built.
Though I am not yet bound,
its presence looms,
capturing me without refusal.

Standing inches apart,
our thoughts run miles away.
The serendipity is all that remains.

As days pass,
our secrets are revealed.
Thoughts that follow
are tides that ebb and flow.

As I struggle to swim
in the rapid current of my mind,
solitude welcomes my head to its pillow.
Silence drapes itself over my surroundings,
and suffocates the air.

Conceived by a dream,
the emptiness of nothing,
does not exist.

I come back to the surface of reality,
and one thing remains true.
Chasing after no one,
I find myself chasing after you.

Leave a comment